In the Footsteps of Mozart’s Clarinetist


Anton Stadler and His Basset Clarinet

Pamela L. Poulin

June 1, 2019

172 pp.

24 illustrations

SKU: 9378-1-20-1-16-1-10-2-16-14-3-1-12-6-11-1-1-1-6-4-5-4 Categories: ,


In the Footsteps of Mozart’s Clarinetist: Anton Stadler (1753-1812) is the first in-depth study of the achievements of Viennese clarinetist Anton Stadler in English, including his five-year tour of Europe taking him as far away as St. Petersburg, and, of paramount importance, his friendship with W. A. Mozart, resulting in Mozart’s monumental works for clarinet, the Clarinet Concerto, K. 622 and Quintet, K. 581, written for Stadler’s unique Bass Klarinet (today called “basset clarinet”), having a extended lower chromatic range to written small c by the most widely published author and speaker on Stadler, clarinetist and musicologist, Pamela L. Poulin, Ph.D


Pamela L. Poulin: Earning her Ph.D. at the Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester (Stanley Hasty’s artist studio and that of Leon Russianoff of the Juilliard School of Music) and teaching at the Peabody Conservatory of Music of the Johns Hopkins University, Pamela L. Poulin is a clarinetist and music historian who has taught, spoken and published the most widely on Anton Stadler, was keynote speaker for the International Clarinet Association at its Silver Anniversary and was invited speaker on Stadler for Mozart’s 200th Anniversary, the Internationaler Mozart­ Congress, Salzburg, 1991. In addition to many scholarly journal articles and papers on eighteenth-century music (including the New Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia and the American Musicological Society, respectively), the scholarly Clarendon Press of Oxford University Press, as part of its “Early Music Series,” has published her books on that epoch