César Franck


An Annotated Bibliography

Timothy Flynn

244 pp.

0 illustrations

SKU: 9378-1-57647-347-4-1-1-1-3-1 Categories: ,


The materials examined in the present study represent an overview of the scholarship regarding the life and music of César Franck (1822 – 1890) as well as selected sources associated with nineteenth century French music in general. Studies pertaining to other composers and musical genres connected with Franck have been included to offer the researcher more extensive information regarding the composer’s life and times. This monograph is not meant to be an exhaustive collection of material, but rather it consists of a cross section of what has been written about the composer, his music, and the history surrounding him. The purpose of this resource tool is to facilitate further research and deeper inquiry into Franck as a composer, teacher, and organist in addition to his influence upon music history through his works. Every effort has been made to present a variety of views and opinions on the composer and his music when possible and to call the reader’s attention to lesser-known writings by musicians, critics, and scholars from the 19th century to the present day.


Timothy Flynn: Timothy Flynn holds a Bachelor of Music from George Mason University, and was awarded a Master and Ph.D. in musicology from Northwestern University. Currently, Dr. Flynn is chair of Performing Arts at Olivet College (MI) where he teaches music history, theory, composition, and conducts the choirs, and musical productions. In addition to his work at Olivet College, Dr. Flynn is also director of music and organist at St. Mary Cathedral in Lansing. As an organist, he has played recitals in Paris, Rome, Florence, Chicago and Washington, D. C. As a musicologist, Dr. Flynn has presented numerous scholarly papers at various conferences throughout the U.S. at meetings of the American Musicological Society and the Nineteenth Century Studies Association. Most recently he has delivered papers at the Biennial Conference on Nineteenth Century Music in Dublin, Ireland and Edinburgh, Scotland. Dr. Flynn is the author of two scholarly monographs: one on Camille Saint-Saens and one on Charles Gounod, both published by Routledge. Dr. Flynn is also a regular lecturer for the San Francisco Opera Company, where he has spoken on works by Puccini, Saint-Saëns, and Offenbach. He has several organ and choral compositions published by Augsburg Fortress Press and Morning Star Press.